Posted by: Julie Duell | March 16, 2008

ABOUT THIS BLOG

 

First of all, “Welcome!” 

The initial idea for sharing “Art related stories” came from Mike Rubbo, who encouraged myself and other artists to start one.  Mike is a multi-talented film-maker, photographer & artist, residing on the Central Coast of NSW. 

However Mike’s original idea of a blog recording “Art stories” for me quickly turned into “Free Art Lessons”, since I realised I have created numerous art teaching charts over 35 years and wish to perpetuate their usefulness in an interactive way. Whilst I certainly don’t claim to be an expert in the advice given in the ‘lessons’, I simply wish to share insights, discoveries and experiments (most born of much trial and error along the artistic journey) and encourage contributions and feedback from visitors to the site. 

My early painting years were devoid of sufficient hands-on tuition, so long before the advent this wonderful Internet my learning experiences in art had to be mainly through personal experimentation and available books.  It was hard work to learn this way and I wish to help others where possible, by passing on the benefits of that learning. 

Unlike most blogs, each post covers a different topic, to be expanded and kept current – in other words, there will be no “dead archives”! 

I would also like to introduce you to my partner, Tony La Spina. We joined forces back in 2001, having been both widowed.  Tony doesn’t look much different now but my hair is now almost white as you can see in the banner heading at the top!

julie-duell-tony-la-spina-at-tonys-saratoga-studio-2001-copy.jpg

We’re a great team – enjoying art and sing together.   You could think of us as a couple of recycled teenagers!    Tony taught art for around 30 years in the Coffs Harbour area and has his own Post on this site. 

 Thankyou for visiting.  I would be honoured to be listed under your “Favourites” to revisit often as the blog unfolds.

Cheers!    Julie Duell  

(Personal art profile in the page ‘About the Artist’) 

______________________________________________________________

Comment passed on:

Hi Julie…this was the first time I have managed to have a look at your blog…its fabulous..where do you get the time to do all this!!   Charlene.
Reply:   Well, Charlene – we seniors have to do something to keep us off the streets and this is FUN!  Thanks, Julie.
Responses

  1. Greetings Julie,

    Sure, it would be our great pleasure to see our kids’ artwork in your new blog!

    I’ve entered your blog and your drawing impressed me! The layout is so pleasant!

    It looks to me that there are lots of categories and information. We will try to share our stories or interesting experiment. Thank you for providing a good site to surf!

    Good luck with all you do. Cheers, Carrie, Artive Kids, Hong Kong.

    Thanks Carrie. Stay tuned. I would love to include a post about your great creative work with children in Hong Kong. Julie

  2. Julie, it seems the blog is roaring along like a bushfire, but not destructive at all.

    Did you know that the Family Art Stories is to launched by the Manly Art gallery on the 12th. We should try to get some people to come along. You must certainly come with Tony.

    Mike

  3. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyways, fantastic blog!

    • Great to meet you Leonie – Enjoy the blog. Any questions, fire away! Julie


Leave a Reply

Categories

